Jets off to flying start with win over Beresfield

Tuesday, July 3, 2018

THE Raymond Terrace Jets confirmed their status as favourites for the Newcastle district No.1 grade Saturday pennant competition with a 62-49 first-round win over Beresfield.

The quartet of Shaun Richards, Jamie Minter, Shane Evans and Lennon Scott led the way, defeating Grant Boyce, Riley Wells, Col Byron and Michael Brown 25-17. Matt Baus edged out Daniel Hill 20-18 and Jason Stokes beat Warren Shipley 17-14.

The other section one winners were Water Board, who upset Mayfield West 60-58, and Windale-Gateshead, who whitewashed Wallsend 64-45.

In section two, Kahibah accounted for last year’s runners-up, Soldiers Point, 61-48. Lambton beat Teralba 62-44 and Warners Bay edged out Belmont 53-51.

In section three, last year’s wooden spooners, Charlestown, beat Cardiff 68-53, Swansea Workers downed Edgeworth 53-44 and Redhead beat Boolaroo 66-50.

In section four, Nelson Bay whitewashed Hamilton North 75-44, Valentine downed a strong Kotara line-up 62-46 and Toronto Workers struggled to beat Alder Park 63-53.

■ NDBA No.1 grade midweek pennant titleholders Raymond Terrace started their title defence with a solid 71-49 victory over Beresfield.

Kurri Kurri recorded a 70-45 win over Nelson Bay, Mayfield West pipped Swansea Workers 52-50 and Wallsend edged out newly promoted Hamilton North 58-57.

On Wednesday, Mayfield West host Raymond Terrace, Kurri Kurri enjoy home-green advantage against Boolaroo and Kahibah are at home to Windale-Gateshead.

■ Nelson Bay host the third and fourth rounds of the district pairs championship on Sunday.

The 2014 champions, Jason Stokes and Matthew Baus, advanced to the third round with wins over John and David Collaros (Kahibah) 28-9 and Dick Hadley and Paul Wilson (Stockton) 24-4. They meet Kotara’s Stephen Kerby and Craig Bush.

■ Only three previous winners of the state senior pairs championship have qualified for the third round at Mayfield West on Sunday.

The 2010 titleholders, Ted Hedley and Geoff Horton (Wallsend), confront the host club’s Errol Daly and Vince Onslow, while 2013 champions Mick Beesley and Michael Brown (Beresfield) play Bruce Alexander and Greg Randall (Raymond Terrace).

■ Third-round and quarter-final matches in the state president’s pairs will be played on Sunday at Hamilton North.

Ingo Schuette, the only previous winner left, and Joe O’Brien (Windale-Gateshead) do battle with Nelson Bay’s Bill Gainsford and Ray Prisk.