Profile: Lake Macquarie

Tuesday, July 3, 2018

Your candidates from left: Ivan Macfadyen (Greens), Greg Piper (Independent), Daniel Collard (Liberal), Melissa Cleary (Labor), Kim Gritten (Christian Democratic), Andrew Coroneo (No Land Tax, no picture supplied), Susan Strain, (Animal Justice Party, no picture supplied)● Get to know the seats in the Hunter


Labor is giving itself a good chance of regaining Lake Macquarie – the seat it held for 57 years before former Lake mayor Greg Piper first claimed it as an independent in 2007.

Mr Piper emerged from the 2011 election with a 14.6 per cent margin, and while a small boundary redistribution might have done him no favours, such a margin may well be too big a mountain for Labor’s Melissa Cleary to climb.

But the wolves are approaching the door for Mr Piper, and they’re barking about the effectiveness of an independent in securing the big ticket items out of Liberal or Labor state governments for the western side of Lake Macquarie which is experiencing significant growth.

Road issues have become a major issue for voters, especially at Toronto, Fennell Bay, Booragul and Argenton with no significant relief on the horizon.

Interestingly, Lake Macquarie has only had four MPs since it was formed in 1950 – James Simpson (Labor, 19 years), Merv Hunter (Labor, 22 years), his son Jeff Hunter (Labor, 16 years) and Mr Piper (Independent, 9 years).


Change is in the wind, but it will have to be a big wind if we’re going to see change this time around.

Suburbs in electorate: Arcadia Vale, Argenton, Awaba, Balcolyn, Balmoral, Blackalls Park, Bolton Point, Bonnells Bay, Boolaroo, Booragul, Brightwaters, Buttaba, Cardiff, Cardiff South, Carey Bay, Coal Point, Cockle Creek, Cooranbong, Dora Creek, Eraring, Fassifern, Fennell Bay, Fishing Point, Freemans Waterhole, Kilaben Bay, Killingworth, Lakelands, Macquarie Hills, Mandalong, Marmong Point, Martinsville, Mirrabooka, Morisset, Morisset Park, Myuna Bay, Rathmines, Ryhope, Silverwater, Speers Point, Sunshine, Teralba, Toronto, Wakefield, Wangi Wangi, Warners Bay, Windermere Park, Woodrising, Wyee, Wyee Point, Yarrawonga Park.

Picture: Jonathan Carroll

Currently held by: Greg Piper, Independent

Margin: 14.6% to Independent

Boundary redistribution: reduced Piper’s margin by 0.3% on 2011 result.

Voters: 53,967

Two-party preferred result 2011: Greg Piper (Independent) 25,356 beat John McDonald (Liberal) 13,733

Total population: 67,317

Median age: 43

Total workforce: 30,402

Weekly household income: $1062

People who travel to work by public transport: 950

People who travel to work by car as passenger or driver: 21,126

Couples without children: 7920

Couples with children: 7482

One parent families: 3199

Own house outright: 9601

Own house with mortgage: 8586

Rent home: 5760

Median monthly mortgage repayment: $1733

Unemployment rate: TBC


1.Ivan Macfadyen, Greens

2.Greg Piper, Independent

3.Daniel Collard, Liberal

4.Melissa Cleary, Labor

5.Kim Gritten, Christian Democratic Party

6.Andrew Coroneo, No Land Tax

7.Susan Strain, Animal Justice Party

* Information collected from 2011 Census, Newcastle Herald archive and Elections NSW.